Department of

Biochemistry & Molecular Biology

EST. 1924

Saint Louis University School of Medicine

Edward A. Doisy, Ph.D.

Nobel Laureate and
Department Founder
BMB logo with Antony structure final-sized

Happy Centennial, BMB!!

We are celebrating 100 years since the Department of Biochemistry & Molecular Biology was founded in 1924 by Edward A. Doisy.

Doisy 1924 with date-crop sized

Our Legacy

  • 1 Nobel Laureate

    blue-bullet Doisy

  • 2 Members, National Academy of Sciences

    blue-bullet Doisy, Sly

  • 1 Member, National Academy of Medicine

    blue-bullet Roth

  • 3 Members, American Academy of Arts & Sciences

    blue-bullet Doisy, Roth, Shilatifard

  • 1 Member, Leopoldina

    blue-bullet Kutchan

  • 11 Fellows, American Association for the Advancement of Science

    blue-bullet Di Cera, Doisy, Elliott, Katzman, Kutchan, Lee, Lodge, McKee, Olson, Shilatifard, Sly

  • 2 Members and 1 Fellow, National Academy of Inventors

    blue-bullet Chang, Heyduk, Lodge

  • 2 Pew Scholars

    blue-bullet Cole, Yap

Message from the Chair

di cera id pic 2023-rev-crop

Welcome to our website!

We proudly celebrate 100 years since the founding of the department in 1924 by Dr. Edward A. Doisy, recipient of the 1943 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine for his work on the synthesis of vitamin K.

The tradition of excellence started by Dr. Doisy continued with the remarkable scientific achievements of his successors, Dr. Robert Olson and Dr. William Sly.

Today, faculty in BMB honor this tradition with work at the forefront of disciplines like blood coagulation, DNA repair, and lipid metabolism, supported by state-of-the-art facilities and instrumentation. A generous endowment bestowed by Dr. Doisy on BMB is being used to grow and support our innovative and transformative biomedical research.

It is an exciting time to join us in BMB as a student, postdoc, or new faculty member. Thank you for visiting!

Click to learn more about the centennial and the department. Submit your updated contact info to stay informed about BMB.

Department Stats

External Grant Expenditures
External Grant Expenditures FY20-FY24-crop-red-no labels-4
IF Stacked Bar 2020-2024-crop-red-June
Faculty Citations 2020-2024-crop-red-no labels-June
Doisy Scholar Program

Biochemistry Ph.D. and M.D./Ph.D. students who have passed their qualifying exams are designated Doisy Scholars and receive the following benefits:

  • The stipends of Doisy Scholars are supported in full by the BMB Doisy Fund through their 5th year of graduate school.
  • Scholars receive an unrestricted grant each year toward their research and education activities, provided by the BMB Chair.

Scholar terms run from July 1 to June 30.

Rafael Cancado De Faria

Rafael Cancado de Faria

Zachary Foulks

Zachary Foulks

Amelia Fox

Amelia Fox

Christy Hadfield

Christy Hadfield

Lucas Handlin

Lucas Handlin

Matthew Luetzen

Matthew Luetzen

Hannah Lupton

Hannah Lupton

Atika Malique

Atika Malique

Reagan McGuffee

Reagan McGuffee

Ayush Mistry

Ayush Mistry

Barbara Teodoro-Castro

Barbara Teodoro-Castro

Amanda Titus

Amanda Titus

Rachel Weiss

Rachel Weiss

Jaclyn Whalen

Jaclyn Whalen

Department Committees

Doisy Fund

  • Yuna Ayala, Ph.D.
  • Ángel Baldán, Ph.D.
  • Enrico Di Cera, M.D., Chair
  • Kathleen E. Doisy, M.S.
  • Oleg Kisselev, Ph.D.
  • Krista Lentine, M.D., Ph.D.
  • LaChina McCoy
  • Eleonore Stump, Ph.D.

Instrumentation and Cores

  • Edwin Antony, Ph.D., Chair
  • Yuna Ayala, Ph.D.
  • Angel Baldan, Ph.D.
  • Tomasz Heyduk, Ph.D.
  • Michelle Pherson, Ph.D.
  • Nicola Pozzi, Ph.D.


  • Edwin Antony, Ph.D.
  • Yuna Ayala, Ph.D., Chair
  • Susana Gonzalo, Ph.D.
  • Tomasz Heyduk, Ph.D.
  • Cassie Kukla, Ph.D. Student, Student Rep
  • LaChina McCoy
  • Nathan Ponzar, Ph.D., Postdoc Rep
BMB Faculty Incentives

SLU Incentives

  • F&A Rebate: Percentage of F&A rebated to 2-fund
  • Non-salary incentive: Half of salary recovered beyond 50% rebated to 2-fund
  • Salary bonus from the faculty compensation plan for faculty who have recovered 50% or more of their total compensation from extramural sources as a 3-year rolling average from preceding FYs

Primary Faculty

  • Matching of the SLU non-salary incentive
  • Salary bonus for faculty with salary recovery from extramural sources of at least 50% (Assistant Professor), 60% (Associate Professor), or 70% (Professor). Salary recovery in excess of these levels will be rebated to a 2- fund for research use
  • Salary bonus for any grant, new or renewal, with BMB faculty as the PI, generating full indirect costs, and providing at least 4 years of funding
  • Salary bonus for new publications with BMB faculty as the corresponding author in journals with an impact factor greater than 10

Primary & Secondary Faculty

  • Matching of JIT grants from the ICTS
  • Student support through the Doisy Scholar Program
  • null

BMB has established a partnership with the Washington University Center for Cellular Imaging (WUCCI) through the joint acquisition of a new Glacios 200 kV cryo-EM microscope financed by a strategic investment of the Doisy Fund in Biochemistry. The partnership gives all SLU researchers access to the WUCCI with the same priority, costs, and technical assistance available to WU investigators.

The new Glacios complements the WUCCI’s pre-existing Titan Krios 300 kV cryo-EM and has significantly expanded the workflow of many labs at both WU and SLU, thereby benefiting the entire scientific community of the greater St. Louis region.

To subscribe to the WUCCI Newsletter, click Contact Us and enter your email address in the Join WUCCI News section.

  • null

events backgroundleft
events backgroundright
High Impact Publications
Papers highlighted below were published in journals with an impact factor of 10 or greater.
All papers were published within the past year.
Biochemistry News
BMB Celebrates 100 Years!

The Edward A. Doisy Department of Biochemistry & Molecular Biology celebrated 100 years since its…

blue structure double-transparent
Recent Publications in the Department
Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology