Past Lab Members


Sweta Bhoopatiraju

Undergraduate Student Worker, participant in the SLU Medical Scholars Program and graduated with her B.S. degree in May 2020. She is currently planning to enter medical school in the fall.


Simona Graziano, Ph.D.

Graduate Student, completed her Ph.D. in June 2017 on “Novel roles of nuclear lamins and vitamin D signaling in genome stability.”


Ray Kreienkamp, Ph.D.

M.D./Ph.D. Student, completed his Ph.D. in May 2017 on “Novel contributors to the pathophysiology of Hutchinson-Gilford Progeria syndrome.” He is currently completing his M.D. degree at Saint Louis University School of Medicine.


Jacqui Hawkins-Salsbury, Ph.D.

Postdoctoral Fellow, obtained her Ph.D. degree from Washington University on “Lysosomal storage disorders and therapeutic development.”


Qian Li, Ph.D.

Postdoctoral Fellow, obtained her Ph.D. degree from Peking University, China on”Vitamin D as a therapeutic strategy for TNBC and BRCA1-mutated breast tumors”. She is currently at John’s Hopkins Medical School.


Monica Croke, Ph.D.

Postdoctoral Fellow, obtained her Ph.D. degree from Washington University in 2012  on “Characterization of the role of Rac GTPase proteins in the function of osteoclasts, the cell responsible for bone resorption.”


Jesus Caceres

Research Assistant, preparing for application to graduate and medical school.


Sylvia Ortega-Martinez

Graduate Student from Instituto Cajal, Madrid, Spain (“Genomic instability in BRCA1-deficient cells that overcome growth arrest”).


Martin Neumann

Research Assistant, worked on the regulation of DNA repair factors, such as BRCA1 and 53BP1, by novel mechanisms.


David Grotsky

Graduate Student from the Genetics Program at WUSM (“Telomere defects and genomic instability in lamin-related diseases” and “Upregulation of 53BP1 protein levels: a new therapeutic strategy for breast cancer”).


Lucia Morgado-Palacín

Conducted Master’s degree research project supported by a grant from the Universidad Autonoma de Madrid (UAM), Spain. Lucia is now doing her doctoral studies in the laboratory of Manuel Serrano in the Spanish National Cancer Research Centre (CNIO), Madrid, Spain. 


Stephanie Perkins, M.D.

Chief Resident of the Department of Radiation Oncology. Dr. Perkins is currently Assistant Professor in the Department of Radiation Oncology at WUSM.


Abena b. Redwood

Graduate student from the Molecular Cell Biology Program at Washington University (“Roles for A-type lamins in telomere biology and the DNA damage response pathway”). Abena is currently a Postdoctoral trainee at MD Anderson in Houston, Texas.


Ignacio González-Suarez, Ph.D.

Postdoctoral Fellow, obtained his Ph.D. degree in 2006 from the Universidad de Oviedo, Spain, on “A-type lamins functions in the preservation of genome integrity: A new pathway regulating 53BP1 stability.” Ignacio is currently a scientist at Philip Morris International. 


Kenneth Biehl, M.D.

Resident of the Department of Radiation Oncology. Dr. Biehl is now a practicing physician in Radiation Oncology with Arizona Oncology Associates, P.C.


Undergraduate Students:

Krista Johnson (WUSM), Hashini Gunasinghe (WUSM), Rachel Waller (UMC), Victoria Blanco (KU), Monica Carron (Truman University).